# Attachment A.8.3: Members of NIH Strengthening the Biomedical Research Workforce Working Group and the BEST Evaluation Subcommittee

# Members of the NIH Strengthening the Biomedical Research Workforce Working Group for the BEST Program

## **Co-Chairs:**

## Judith H. Greenberg, Ph.D.

Director

Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

#### Story Landis, Ph.D.

Director

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

#### Sally J. Rockey, Ph.D.

Deputy Director for Extramural Research Office of Extramural Research Office of the Director National Institutes of Health (NIH)

## **Working Group Coordinators:**

#### Nancy L. Desmond, Ph.D.

Acting NIH Research Training Officer Office of Extramural Programs Office of Extramural Research Office of the Director National Institutes of Health (NIH)

#### Alison Hall, Ph.D.

Acting Director

Division of Training, Workforce Development, and Diversity National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

#### Stephen Korn, Ph.D.

Director

Office of Training, Career Development and Workforce Diversity National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

## Patricia (Trish) Labosky, Ph.D.

Program Leader Office of Strategic Coordination Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives Office of the Director National Institutes of Health (NIH)

#### **Members:**

## Neeraj Agarwal, Ph.D.

Training Officer
Division of Extramural Research
National Eye Institute (NEI)

## Robin Barr, D.Phil.

Director

Division of Extramural Activities

National Institute on Aging (NIA)

## Larry Boerboom, Ph.D.

Chief

Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences Integrated Review Group Center for Scientific Review (CSR)

#### Lori M. Conlan, Ph.D.

Director

Office of Postdoctoral Services

Office of Intramural Training & Education

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

## John Connaughton, Ph.D.

Chief

Special Emphasis Panel Section 2

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

#### Charles R. Dearolf, Ph.D.

Assistant Director for Intramural Research Office of the Director National Institutes of Health (NIH)

## Jessica M. Faupel-Badger, Ph.D.

Director

Postdoctoral Research Associates (PRAT) Program National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)

## Chyren Hunter, Ph.D.

Deputy Director and Research Training Officer Division of Extramural Activities

## National Institute on Aging (NIA)

## Henry Khachaturian, Ph.D.

Extramural Program Policy Officer

Office of Extramural Programs

Office of Extramural Research

Office of the Director

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

## Donna J. McCloskey, Ph.D.

**Program Director** 

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

## Alberto Rivera-Rentas, Ph.D.

**Program Officer** 

Division of Extramural Research

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)

#### Dede Rutberg, M.B.A.

Lead Grants Management Specialist

Grants Management Branch

Division of Extramural Activities

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)

## Wally Schaffer, Ph.D.

Senior Scientific Advisor for Extramural Research

Office of Extramural Research

Office of the Director

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

## Daniel A. Sklare, Ph.D.

Research Training Officer and Program Director

Division of Scientific Programs

National Institutes on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)

## Sanya A. Springfield, Ph.D.

Director

Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

#### Jennifer Sutton, M.S.

Extramural Program Policy and Evaluation Officer

Office of Extramural Programs

Office of Extramural Research

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

## Susan Weiss, Ph.D.

Associate Director for Scientific Affairs National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

# Jonathan Wiest, Ph.D.

Director Center for Cancer Training National Cancer Institute (NCI)

## **Members of the NIH BEST Evaluation Subcommittee**

Alberto Rivera-Rentas, Ph.D.

Charles Dearolf, Ph.D.

Jennifer Sutton, Ph.D.

Jessica Faupel-Badger, Ph.D.

Jonathan Wiest, Ph.D.

Kristina Faulk

Patricia Labosky, Ph.D.

Robin Barr, Ph.D.

Stephen Korn, Ph.D.

Walter Schaffer, Ph.D